Awards | Public Justice
page-template-default,page,page-id-135,page-parent,tribe-no-js,page-template-public-justice,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-child-theme-ver-,select-theme-ver-4.6,menu-animation-underline,popup-menu-fade,side_area_over_content,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.10.0,vc_responsive,elementor-default,elementor-kit-34575


Trial Lawyer of The Year Award

Trial lawyers have a special commitment to justice. Their advocacy skills breathe life into the rights of individuals and groups that have suffered injustice and harmful abuses.

Every year, trial lawyers provide millions of people with the means to obtain justice. In the majority of these cases, the client is an individual who has been damaged in some way – physically, mentally, emotionally, monetarily – by the wrongful conduct of a business or corporation.

These battles for legal justice usually pit the enormous financial resources of the bureaucratic or business defendant against the meager resources of the injured plaintiff. Ironically, plaintiffs’ attorneys are not generally paid unless they win.

However, many trial lawyers take great risk and overcome incredible odds to advance the common law, to make new law, and to win justice for their clients and for the common good of the public.

The 2021 Trial Lawyer of the Year Award was presented at our Annual Gala in July, and submissions for the 2022 award will open in early 2022.

Contact Director of Communications Aidan O’Shea at aoshea@publicjustice.net with any questions.

View videos of the 2021 finalists.

Read about previous winners of the Trial Lawyer of the Year Award.

Illuminating Injustice Award

Public Justice’s Illuminating Injustice Award was designed to help those who have suffered a significant injury, but received only a partial recovery. The winner is announced during our Annual Gala. We announce the winner of our Trial Lawyer of the Year Award at the same event.

The purpose of this award is to highlight just one of the many clients our supporters have represented who suffered a catastrophic injury and for certain legal reasons were unable to get the just compensation they deserved. We hope to raise awareness of these types of unfortunate situations and help these injury victims with additional monetary relief.

Read the harrowing story of our 2017 Illuminating Injustice recipient, Jessica Simpkins, here.

Read the award criteria and make a nomination for the Illuminating Injustice Award here. The award will now be considered on a rolling basis.

Contact Lucy Sears at lsears@publicjustice.net with any questions.

Skip to content